Points of interest…
- PNCB clinical hour minimums vary by primary or acute care track.
- Some 2027 programs require current FNP or PNP certification, not any MSN.
- Drexel's PNP track requires a 5-day on-campus intensive, unlike Maryville's.
Most post-master's pediatric nurse practitioner certificates require 15 to 24 graduate credits, far short of a second MSN. Nurses who already hold an MSN or DNP in another specialty, Psychiatric Mental Health Nurse Practitioner or Nurse Midwifery, for example, can add pediatrics without repeating a full master's program.
The harder decisions sit elsewhere. Primary care and acute care lead to separate PNCB certification exams. Some programs admit only nurses with current FNP or PNP certification. Clinical hour totals, tuition, and campus requirements also vary widely.
Every program ranked here delivers coursework online, though some add short campus intensives. Supervised clinical hours still happen in person, with a qualified preceptor, wherever you live.
Top 10 Online Post-Master's PNP Certificate Programs
This list ranks online post-master's PNP certificate programs by an online-delivery weighted quality composite, not by cheapest price or shortest time. The ranking combines federal institutional data, tuition adjustments, and program-level details from graduatecertificate.org. Program-level earnings and debt figures are limited, so this list emphasizes accredited program design, clinical requirements, and institutional outcomes such as graduation rate and net price.
| Rank | School | Location | Net price | Best for | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| #1 | Florida International University | Miami, FL | ~$11,000/yr (est.) | Working MSNs seeking fully online primary care | |
Florida International University's online post-graduate certificate focuses on pediatric primary care and requires 32 credits. The program builds on an MSN and leads to national certification eligibility. Federal data list a typical net price around $9,300 and a 74% graduation rate for the institution. Program-level earnings and debt are not reported separately.
| |||||
| #2 | University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences | Little Rock, AR | $10,000 – $15,000/yr (est.) | Experienced NPs seeking dual pediatric certification | |
The University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences offers multiple post-graduate tracks, including primary care, acute care, and a dual primary/acute option. Many tracks are hybrid and use a gap analysis to tailor coursework, with some plans updated in July 2025. Federal data do not publish a typical net price or graduation rate for this institution, though median earnings 10 years after entry are around $73,800. Program-specific earnings and debt are not reported separately.
| |||||
| #3 | Rutgers University | New Brunswick, NJ | ~$23,000/yr (est.) | Nurses changing specialties through hybrid format | |
Rutgers School of Nursing provides hybrid post-master's certificates in both pediatric primary care and pediatric acute care. The programs help nurses with a master's or doctorate gain specialty certification while continuing to work. Federal data show a typical net price around $24,400 and a graduation rate near 84% for the institution. Program-level earnings and debt are not reported separately.
| |||||
| #4 | New York University | New York, NY | ~$43,000/yr (est.) | ||
New York University offers hybrid advanced certificates in pediatric acute care and primary care, with a fast pace of about one year and 11 to 13 credits for the acute care track. Clinical placements are arranged by faculty, and the acute care program requires at least one year of pediatric experience. The institution's typical net price is around $37,100 and its graduation rate is about 88%. Program-specific earnings and debt are not reported separately.
| |||||
| #5 | The University of Tennessee-Knoxville | Knoxville, TN | ~$16,000/yr (est.) | ||
The University of Tennessee-Knoxville offers hybrid pediatric primary and acute care certificates that require 840 clinical hours and on-site sessions. The program uses a gap analysis and requires a master's in nursing plus APRN certification. Federal data show a typical net price around $19,000 and a graduation rate near 74%. Program-level earnings and debt are not reported separately.
| |||||
| #6 | University of Iowa | Iowa City, IA | $13,000 – $32,000/yr (est.) | ||
The University of Iowa offers a hybrid pediatric acute care certificate for post-master's APRNs. The 21-credit curriculum spans two years and includes clinical practicums, with a February 1 application deadline. The institution's typical net price is about $22,500 and its graduation rate is near 75%. Program-specific earnings and debt are not reported separately.
| |||||
| #7 | Creighton University | Omaha, NE | $20,000 – $25,000/yr (est.) | ||
Creighton University offers a hybrid pediatric acute care certificate that blends online coursework with clinical experiences. The program requires 16 credits and, according to the school, at least 2,000 hours of direct pediatric care experience, with 525 clinical hours built in. Federal data list a typical net price around $31,600 and a graduation rate near 83%. Program-level earnings and debt are not reported separately.
| |||||
| #8 | Arizona State University | Tempe, AZ | ~$14,000/yr (est.) | ||
Arizona State University's graduate certificate focuses on pediatric primary care through a hybrid format. The program requires a master's in nursing and current RN licensure, with specialization through the Edson College of Nursing and Health Innovation. Federal data show a typical net price around $15,000 and a graduation rate near 68%. Program-specific earnings and debt are not reported separately.
| |||||
| #9 | University of Kentucky | Lexington, KY | ~$15,000/yr (est.) | ||
The University of Kentucky offers two post-master's paths: a graduate certificate in professional nursing with a pediatric acute care concentration and a pediatric primary care certificate. The acute care option requires 16 to 31 credits at $1,002 per credit with a flat tuition rate. The institution's typical net price is around $18,900 and its graduation rate is about 71%. Program-level earnings and debt are not reported separately.
| |||||
| #10 | University of Cincinnati | Cincinnati, OH | ~$15,000/yr (est.) | ||
The University of Cincinnati provides a hybrid pediatric acute care post-graduate certificate that prepares nurses for the CPNP-BC exam. The program requires both a BSN and MSN, a 3.25 GPA, and at least one year of RN experience, with Ohio residents paying $836 per credit part-time. Federal data show a typical net price around $25,600 and a graduation rate near 75%. Program-specific earnings and debt are not reported separately.
| |||||
What Is a Pediatric Nurse Practitioner Graduate Certificate?
Can you become a pediatric nurse practitioner without earning another full master's degree? Yes, if you already hold an MSN or DNP in a different specialty. A post-master's certificate focused on PNP is the credential built for that situation. It is a focused graduate program that adds pediatric specialty preparation to the advanced practice education you have already completed.
How It Differs From a Second Master's
A second master's degree repeats core coursework you have already passed, such as advanced pathophysiology, pharmacology, and health assessment. A certificate does not. Your prior transcript is reviewed, and the program assigns only the credits you still need. That usually means:
- Fewer credits: Only pediatric-specific and gap coursework is required, not a full degree plan.
- Shorter timeline: Many nurses finish in far less time than a new master's would take.
- Narrower scope: The curriculum centers on child and adolescent care, from well-child visits to common pediatric conditions, with supervised clinical practice.
Who Typically Enrolls
The certificate draws a range of advanced practice nurses. Family nurse practitioners and adult gerontology nurse practitioners often want to focus on children. Neonatal nurse practitioners may broaden their scope beyond the NICU. Clinical nurse specialists sometimes add it to move into a nurse practitioner role with a pediatric population.
Primary Care vs. Acute Care PNP Certificates: Which Path Fits You?
Post-master's pediatric nurse practitioner certificates generally follow one of two PNCB certification tracks: primary care or acute care. The right path depends on the patient population and clinical setting you intend to practice in after certification.
| Factor | Primary Care PNP Certificate | Acute Care PNP Certificate |
|---|---|---|
| Patient population | Infants, children, adolescents, and young adults receiving primary and preventive care | Infants, children, adolescents, and young adults needing acute, complex, or critical care |
| Typical clinical settings | Primary-care-oriented settings supported by a pediatric primary care program or post-master's certificate | Pediatric intensive care units, inpatient units, specialty clinics, and emergency departments |
| PNCB certification credential | Certified Pediatric Nurse Practitioner-Primary Care (CPNP-PC) | Certified Pediatric Nurse Practitioner-Acute Care (CPNP-AC) |
| Direct-care clinical hour threshold | No separate PNCB minimum stated beyond completion of an accredited primary care program and required core courses | Minimum 500 supervised direct-care clinical practice hours required; 600 strongly recommended |
| Prior nursing experience expectation | RN licensure and qualifying graduate education; no separate prior pediatric or primary-care work-experience minimum specified | Some programs may expect prior acute inpatient experience; one to two years is described by one program as typical |
| Core graduate-level preparation | Advanced physiology/pathophysiology, advanced pharmacology, and advanced health assessment plus pediatric primary-care specialty preparation | Acute care of children, acute-care clinical practicums, and preparation to manage acute, complex, and chronic illness across inpatient, intensive-care, specialty, and emergency settings |
| Career direction | Best suited to a clinician seeking pediatric primary-care practice and the PNCB primary-care certification pathway | Best suited to a clinician seeking advanced practice with acutely ill, critically ill, or medically complex pediatric patients |
Related Articles
Admission Requirements: Which Master's Degrees Qualify?
Admission prerequisites differ by program, often more around prior nurse practitioner specialty than around online format. Some pediatric nurse practitioner certificate programs require current PNP or FNP certification, while others accept any MSN or DNP prepared nurse. The table below summarizes published requirements and common caveats for the programs included in this article.
| Prior Master's Specialty | Typical Acceptance | Notes / Common Caveats |
|---|---|---|
| Pediatric Nurse Practitioner or Family Nurse Practitioner | MSN or DNP as a PNP or FNP; current PNCB or ANCC certification required | Preferred GPA of 3.2 or higher; current unencumbered RN license and New Jersey APRN license; New Jersey or Compact State RN license required after acceptance; statistics and physical assessment courses required |
| No named prior specialty listed | MSN from a regionally accredited institution and an accredited nursing program | Cumulative GPA of 3.0; at least one year of professional nursing experience; current unencumbered U.S. RN license; applicants below GPA minimum must submit an explanation and improvement plan |
| Master's degree in nursing may be considered; PNP and AGACNP among post-master's options | MS or MSN from a nationally accredited nursing program | 3.0 GPA in master's nursing degree; current unencumbered U.S. RN license; basic statistics course; APRN licensure required for applicants with a master's degree in nursing |
| No specific prior NP specialty listed | MSN and/or DNP from a fully accredited program | Graduate GPA of 3.0 or above; current unrestricted U.S. RN license; pediatric experience not required for admission, but one year of experience required before the clinical portion |
| APRN-recognized applicants: current NP, CNM, CNS, and/or CRNA licensure; MSN without APRN recognition may apply using RN licensure | Accredited MSN with current unencumbered license | Distinguishes APRN-recognized applicants from MSN-prepared applicants without APRN recognition; non-APRN applicants submit proof of RN licensure |
| No named prior specialty listed | MSN from an ACEN- or CCNE-accredited college or university | Active unencumbered RN license required; for all NP certificate programs, an active unencumbered APRN-NP license is required |
| No specific prior NP specialties identified | MSN from an NLNAC- or CCNE-accredited program | 3.0 GPA in MSN degree program; active RN license; regionally accredited BSN; CCNE- or ACEN-accredited nursing program; undergraduate statistics with a minimum grade of C |
How Long Does an Online PNP Certificate Take?
Fast completion and continued employment rarely fit on the same calendar, and that tradeoff determines how long a post-master's PNP certificate takes. Most programs require 15 to 24 graduate credits. Where you land in that range depends on how much of your prior master's coursework transfers through a gap analysis.
Typical Full-Time and Part-Time Timelines
- Full-time: Expect to finish in roughly 12 to 18 months, usually with a heavy clinical load in the final terms.
- Part-time: Plan on about two years, with one or two courses per term.
Part-time enrollment exists largely for working NPs who cannot step away from paid shifts. Some programs let you switch between paces. A longer timeline also stretches the period you are paying tuition, so confirm per-term costs before you commit.
Why Clinical Hours Set the Pace
Coursework is rarely the bottleneck. Didactic classes are delivered online and can often be completed around a work schedule, but clinical rotations happen in person at pediatric sites with a qualified preceptor. Those hours require blocks of daytime availability, and securing a placement can take months. If a preceptor falls through, your graduation date can slip a full term.
Ask each program how many clinical hours fall in each term and whether it helps arrange placements. That answer will predict your real completion date more accurately than the credit count.
Clinical Hours and Placement Support: What You Need to Know
How many clinical hours does a post-master's PNP certificate actually require? The starting point is the Pediatric Nursing Certification Board (PNCB); totals then vary by school and track.
The PNCB Floor and Typical Program Totals
For 2026, PNCB requires at least 500 supervised direct-care clinical hours for post-master's certificate graduates. The hours must fall in the population focus that matches your exam, primary care pediatrics for the CPNP-PC or acute care pediatrics for the CPNP-AC. The certificate must also come from an accredited college or university. PNCB strongly recommends 600 hours for acute care. Telehealth hours may count toward the minimum. Simulation does not count toward the 500, though it may count above that figure.
Published program totals vary:
- University of Pittsburgh (acute care): 500 hours, with a note that PNCB recommends 600.
- Wayne State University: 675 hours for both the primary care and acute care graduate certificates.
- Seton Hall University: 645 hours for its acute track, though that figure comes from the broader track rather than a post-master's certificate specifically.
- Cedarville University: 800 hours across four semesters (200 each) for its PNP track, a figure drawn from its MSN/DNP materials and not confirmed for the post-master's certificate.
So expect a range of roughly 500 to 800 hours. Confirm the exact total for your certificate track with the program.
Placement Support
Placement policy is where programs differ most, and the published materials are thin. Cedarville states that its PNP track coordinator and a clinical and practicum placement coordinator work with students to secure clinical sites. That is real institutional help, but it does not say whether placement is guaranteed or limited by geography. Pittsburgh, Wayne State, and Seton Hall do not publish a clear preceptor policy in the sources reviewed. Ask each admissions office directly whether the school arranges preceptors, approves ones you find, or expects you to locate your own, and get the answer in writing before you enroll.
Online coursework bends around your schedule, but supervised clinical hours do not. They are completed in person with a qualified preceptor, and no legitimate online PNP certificate waives them.
Online vs. Hybrid Delivery: Campus Visits and Synchronous Requirements
Drexel's acute care PNP certificate includes a 5-day intensive in a clinical course, while Maryville's certificate lists zero campus visits. That gap shows why "online" can mean very different things across the programs here.
Fully Online vs. Hybrid
A fully online program delivers all didactic coursework over the internet. A hybrid program adds required campus time. Whether you are in a fully online or hybrid pediatric nurse practitioner track, or a Clinical Nurse Specialist program, clinical rotations happen in person at a practice site near you. No online format removes that requirement.
Here is how several schools describe their formats:
- Maryville: Fully online with no campus visits. Clinicals can be completed locally in a preferred setting, though you should confirm your state and site are eligible.
- Drexel (primary care): Mostly online, with a 4-day in-person intensive in the first week of summer quarter. Dates may change.
- Drexel (acute care): Hybrid, with a 5-day intensive and synchronous online lectures.
- University of Virginia: An executive hybrid format with online classes and campus visits averaging about once a month.
- Spring Arbor: Described as online, but published information does not clearly state whether campus visits or intensives apply to the post-master's certificate. Ask admissions directly.
Synchronous Class Warning
Synchronous means you log in at set times, much like a live class. If your employer schedules you on weekdays or rotating shifts, fixed lecture hours can collide with work, a concern for any Clinical Nurse Leader student comparing online and hybrid options. Drexel's acute care lectures are synchronous. For the other programs, live-attendance expectations are not clearly documented, so ask for a sample weekly schedule before you apply.
Questions to Ask Before Enrolling
- How many campus days are required in total, and who covers travel and lodging?
- Are any live online sessions mandatory, and at what times?
- Does the school help locate preceptors, or must you arrange your own site?
- Do placement rules in your state limit where you can complete clinicals?
More Online PNP Certificate Programs Worth a Look
The programs below sit outside the ranked list above but share the same purpose: a post-master's route to pediatric certification for nurses who already hold an MSN or DNP. Formats range from fully online to hybrid with short campus immersions, and each entry links to the school's own program page for current admission and tuition details. Entries appear alphabetically by state and are not ranked.
- Pediatric Nurse Practitioner Graduate Certificate
- Post-Graduate Pediatric Primary Care Nurse Practitioner
- Post-Master’s Nurse Practitioner Certificate, Pediatric (Primary Care) Nurse Practitioner
- Pediatric Acute Care Nurse Practitioner
- Post-Graduate Certificate in Nurse Practitioner (APRN) (Pediatric Acute Care Nurse Practitioner)
- Pediatric Primary Care Nurse Practitioner Certificate
- Pediatric Primary Care Nurse Practitioner Certificate (Post Master's)
- Pediatric Acute Care Nurse Practitioner Certificate (Post Master's)
- Post-MSN Pediatric Nurse Practitioner Certificate
- Post-MSN Acute Care Pediatric Nurse Practitioner Certificate
- Post-Master’s Nurse Practitioner Certificate (Pediatric Primary Care Nurse Practitioner)
- Post-Master’s Nurse Practitioner Certificate (Pediatric Acute Care Nurse Practitioner)
- Post-Graduate Certificate in Pediatric Nurse Practitioner
- Post-Doctoral Pediatric Nurse Practitioner (PNP) Certificate
- Pediatric Nurse Practitioner - Primary Care Graduate Certificate
Explore Programs
- Academic Advising
- Accounting
- Acquisition & Contract Management
- Actuarial Science
- Addiction Counseling
- Adult Continuing Education
- Online Adult Gerontology Nurse Practitioner (AGNP) Post-Master's Certificate
- Aerospace Satellites, Radars, and Remote Sensing
- Aging Studies
- American History Graduate Certificate
- American Revolution Graduate Certificate
- Ancient and Classical History Graduate Certificate
- Online Applied Behavior Analysis (ABA) Graduate Certificate
- Applied Economics
- Applied Global Stability
- Applied Psychology
- Art Education
- Artificial Intelligence & Robotics
- Artificial Intelligence in Medicine
- Arts & Culture Management
- Athletic Administration Graduate Certificate
- Athletic Training
- Auditing
- Bioengineering
- Bioinformatics
- Biomedical Engineering
- Biomedical Sciences
- Biomimicry
- Biotechnology
- Business Administration
- Business Economics
- Business Information Systems
- Business Intelligence
- Business Management
- Carbon Management
- Catholic School Leadership
- Chemistry
- Civil Engineering
- Civil War Studies Graduate Certificate
- Climate Change Awareness & Leadership Graduate Certificate
- Clinical Nurse Leader
- Clinical Nurse Specialist
- Clinical Pathology
- Clinical Research
- Cloud Computing
- Communication for Conservation
- Communication Management
- Composition and Rhetoric
- Computer Engineering
- Computer Information Systems
- Construction Management
- Counterintelligence Graduate Certificate
- Creative Writing
- Criminal Justice
- Criminology
- Cybercrime Graduate Certificate
- Cybersecurity
- Data Analytics
- Data Science
- Dementia Care
- Digital Forensics Graduate Certificate
- Digital Humanities
- Dyslexia
- Online Early Childhood Education Graduate Certificate
- Education Administration
- Education Policy
- Electrical Engineering
- Emergency and Disaster Management Graduate Certificate
- Energy Management
- English Language Teaching
- English Literature
- Entrepreneurship
- Environmental Hazard Mitigation and Restoration Graduate Certificate
- Environmental Planning and Design Graduate Certificate
- Epidemiology
- Finance
- Food Science
- Online Forensic Nursing Graduate Certificate
- Forensic Science
- Geographic Information Systems (GIS)
- Geospatial Intelligence
- Global Studies
- Health and Wellness
- Health Communication
- Health Education
- Health Informatics
- Health Information Management
- Health Policy
- Health Services Administration
- Healthcare Administration
- Homeland Security
- Horticulture
- Human Resources
- Information Technology
- Instructional Design
- International & Comparative Education
- International Business
- Law Enforcement Administration
- Legal Studies
- Linguistics
- Math Education
- Mathematics
- Mechanical Engineering
- Nonprofit Management
- Nuclear Engineering
- Nurse Midwifery
- Nursing Administration
- Online Nursing Education Post-Master's Certificate
- Online Nursing Informatics Post-Master's Certificate
- Nutrition
- Organizational Behavior
- Organizational Communication
- Peace Studies & Conflict Resolution
- Philosophy & Ethics
- Family Nurse Practitioner
- Project Management
- Online Psychiatric Mental Health Nurse Practitioner (PMHNP) Post-Master's Certificate
- Public Health
- Public Policy
- Public Safety Leadership
- Reading Education
- Real Estate Investment
- Rehabilitation Counseling
- Semiconductor Processing
- Social Media Marketing
- Social Work
- Sociology
- Special Education
- Sport & Fitness Administration
- Strategic Communication
- Structural Engineering
- Supply Chain Management & Logistics
- Sustainable Tourism
- Technical Communication
- Telecommunications Technology
- Theory & Applications of Regression Models
