Curriculum & Instruction Graduate Certificate Programs
Curriculum development is an important area of education. Both children and adult learners need professionals to develop learning materials, courses, and programs that are both ability and age-appropriate.
An online Curriculum and Instruction Graduate Certificate is designed for graduates in the education field who desire a career in developing course material and improving school curricula. Educators are the ideal candidates, with their extensive experience, to create effective study programs.
2027 Best Online Curriculum & Instruction Graduate Certificate Programs
University of Denver
Denver, CO - Private 4-year - du.edu
Graduate Certificate - Curriculum & Instruction Graduate Certificates
Online Learning - Visit Website
The University of Denver's Morgridge College of Education offers three online-focused Curriculum & Instruction graduate certificates for licensed educators: Gifted Education, Culturally and Linguistically Diverse Education (CLDE), and Special Education. Each 24-credit program blends research-based theory with practical classroom application, covering differentiation, culturally responsive teaching, and inclusive strategies. Courses are delivered fully online, with options for hybrid, on-campus, or off-site attendance to accommodate working teachers. Typically completed in one to two years, these certificates can lead to Colorado state endorsements and serve as a stepping stone toward a master's degree. Graduates emerge ready to support diverse learners and pursue leadership roles in their schools.
- 3 concentration options
- Between one and two years
- 24 total credit hours
- Licensed educators only
- Online, on-campus, off-site, hybrid
Graduate Certificate - Gifted Education Certificate
Online Learning - Visit Website
Designed for licensed educators, the University of Denver's online Gifted Education Certificate focuses exclusively on meeting the needs of gifted learners. The 24-credit curriculum covers cognitive, creative, and social-emotional development, identification methods, twice-exceptionality, and programming strategies. Coursework includes fieldwork and inquiry projects that allow real-world application. While the program is fully online, students may also choose hybrid or on-campus formats. Completion typically takes one to two years. Colorado teachers can use this certificate for the state Gifted Education Endorsement, and all credits apply toward a master's degree in Curriculum & Instruction, making it a practical pathway for career advancement.
- Complete in one to two years
- 24 total credit hours
- Eligible for Colorado Gifted Education Endorsement
- Online, campus, off-site, hybrid options
- Requires licensed educators
- All courses can be completed online
- Includes inquiry projects and fieldwork
- Prepares educators of gifted students
- Pathway to Master's in C&I
Graduate Certificate - Culturally and Linguistically Diverse Education (CLDE) Certificate
Online Learning - Visit Website
The Culturally and Linguistically Diverse Education (CLDE) Certificate at the University of Denver prepares licensed educators to become evidence-based practitioners and researchers. This 24-credit online program emphasizes culturally responsive pedagogy, literacy and language development, assessment, and family-school partnering. Students learn to integrate students' cultural, linguistic, cognitive, and academic strengths into instruction. The certificate aligns with Colorado's CLDE endorsement requirements, and licensed teachers may also qualify for the CORE endorsement. Courses are offered online, on campus, off-site, or via hybrid format, usually completed within one to two years. It can stand alone or combine with a DU degree, providing flexibility for practicing educators.
- Usually take between one and two years to complete
- 24 total credit hours
- Qualifies as state-approved CLDE endorsement
- Eligible for Colorado CORE endorsement
- Can combine with degree programs
- Prepares evidence-based practitioners and researchers
- Integrates culturally responsive pedagogy
- Requires licensed educator status
- Online, on-campus, off-site, hybrid
- Addresses cultural, language, cognitive needs
Graduate Certificate - Special Education Certificate
Online Learning - Visit Website
The University of Denver's online Special Education Certificate immerses licensed educators in evidence-based practices for improving outcomes in children with exceptionalities. This 24-credit program, deliverable entirely online or through hybrid/on-campus options, covers inclusive pedagogy, literacy instruction, learning technologies, behavior analysis, and ethical leadership. Fieldwork opportunities enable collaboration with families, school staff, and community partners. The program typically spans one to two years. Colorado-licensed educators can pursue the Special Education Generalist endorsement upon completion. Graduates may qualify for leadership positions in districts, schools, or universities, and the credits support continued study toward advanced degrees.
- Between one and two years to complete
- 24 total credit hours
- Applicants must be licensed educators
- Online, on-campus, off-site, hybrid formats
- Eligible for CDE Generalist endorsement
- Leadership positions possible after completion
- Prepares evidence-based practitioners and researchers
- Collaborates with families and school personnel
- Optimizes outcomes for children with special needs
- Theory applied to practice and research
Fort Hays State University
Hays, KS - Public 4-Year - fhsu.edu
Graduate Certificate - Curriculum & Instruction Graduate Certificate (The Science of Language and Literacy, STEM Education)
Online Learning - Visit Website
Fort Hays State University's online Graduate Certificate in Curriculum & Instruction allows licensed teachers to choose between two concentrations: The Science of Language and Literacy and STEM Education. This 9–12 credit program mirrors the university's MSE tracks, offering evidence-based literacy instruction or STEM strategies. Admission is rolling and requires a bachelor's degree, a 2.50 GPA in the last 60 credits, and a $40 fee. The certificate does not lead to licensure and is ideal for current educators. No entrance exam requirement is specified, and all coursework is delivered online.
- 2 concentration options
- Rolling admissions
- 2.5 GPA minimum
- $40 application fee
- Designed for licensed teachers
- Certificates mirror master's tracks
- Does not lead to state licensure
- Apply as non-degree seeking student
Graduate Certificate - STEM Education Graduate Certificate (STEM Education)
Online Learning - Visit Website
The STEM Education Graduate Certificate at Fort Hays State University is a fully online, 12-credit program for educators and STEM professionals. The curriculum includes a core course in STEM learning plus nine hours of graduate-level electives, which you can choose from fields like biology or mathematics, either specializing or mixing disciplines. While the certificate does not lead to teaching licensure, it builds evidence-based instructional strategies and STEM pedagogy. The program offers flexibility for working professionals, and no entrance exam information is provided. Ideal for roles in curriculum development or STEM training outside K-12 classrooms.
- 12 total credit hours
- Does not lead to teaching licensure
- Electives from STEM disciplines
- Mix disciplines or specialize
Graduate Certificate - The Effective Teacher Graduate Certificate (Effective Teaching)
Online Learning - Visit Website
Fort Hays State University's Effective Teacher Graduate Certificate is a 9-credit online program for practicing educators. Coursework covers educational leadership, web-based instructional design, and teaching effectiveness strategies. This non-degree certificate does not lead to licensure but supports professional development and career advancement in K-12 education. With only three courses, it can be completed efficiently, and new skills can be applied immediately. The program does not specify an entrance exam requirement, and applications are accepted on a non-degree basis.
- 9 total credit hours
- Does not lead to licensure
- Non-degree application required
Arkansas State University
Jonesboro, AR - Public 4-Year - astate.edu
Graduate Certificate - Curriculum Director Certificate
Online Learning - Visit Website
Arkansas State University’s fully online Curriculum Director Certificate prepares educators for leadership in curriculum design, revision, and implementation. Coursework covers curriculum revision, current issues, ethical leadership, and community relations, while building practical skills in content selection, technology integration, and teacher training. An internship allows real-school application, and the program meets Arkansas standards for Curriculum Program Administrator licensure, with credits transferable to other states. Graduates often become curriculum directors, instructional coordinators, or school administrators, using the certificate as a stepping stone to principal or superintendent roles. Designed for working teachers, the flexible online format carries a total tuition of $7,608, with an average curriculum director salary of $73,454—a significant return on investment.
- $7,608 total program tuition
- curriculum directors make an average of $73,454 per year
- Fully online certificate program
- Meets Arkansas CPA licensure standards
- Internship component included
- Focus: curriculum revision and current issues
- First step into school administration
- Average pay bump over $22,000
- Ethical leadership and community relations
- Pursue curriculum leadership positions
Kennesaw State University
Kennesaw, GA - Public 4-Year - kennesaw.edu
Graduate Certificate - Certificate in Curriculum & Instruction
Online Learning - Visit Website
Kennesaw State University’s Graduate Certificate in Curriculum & Instruction is a fully online, 21-credit-hour program for practicing teachers and administrators seeking to deepen their expertise in curriculum design and instructional leadership. The seven courses explore curriculum theory, community-engaged pedagogies, trends, and applied research, culminating in a capstone project. This Georgia PSC-approved field addition prepares curriculum specialists to mentor colleagues and lead assessment at the classroom, school, or district level. With small class sizes and a learner-centered focus, the program supports individualized learning. Admission requires three years of teaching or administrative experience and a mentor form; no entrance exam is required.
- 21 total credit hours
- 7 total courses
- Work experience required
- Capstone required
- Fully online coursework
- Georgia PSC approved field addition
- Small class sizes and individualized learning
- For elementary, middle, secondary educators
- Mentor form required
- Interview may be required
Walden University
Minneapolis, MN - Private 4-year - waldenu.edu
Graduate Certificate - Graduate Certificate in Curriculum, Instruction, and Assessment
Online Learning - Visit Website
Walden University offers an online Graduate Certificate in Curriculum, Instruction, and Assessment designed for educators seeking to enhance classroom effectiveness. The 20-quarter-credit program integrates neuroscience research into lesson planning, standards-based curriculum design, and assessment strategies to improve student learning. It emphasizes inclusive practices for diverse learners and motivating classroom environments. Tuition is $395 per credit, with total costs around $8,270 including fees. The application process is streamlined—no application fee or essay required—and no entrance exam is needed. Up to 20 credits can be applied toward Walden’s MS in Education. Federal financial aid and scholarships are available, and military personnel receive a 10% tuition reduction.
- $7,900 total program tuition
- $395 per credit
- 20 total credit hours
- $0 application fee
- Financial aid available
- Scholarships available
- 20 credits apply to MS in Education
- 10% tuition reduction for life
- No essay required
- Total cost with fees $8,270
Georgia Southern University
Statesboro, GA - Public 4-Year - georgiasouthern.edu
Graduate Certificate - Post-Master's Certificate in Curriculum and Instruction
Online Learning - Visit Website
Georgia Southern University offers a fully online Post-Master's Certificate in Curriculum and Instruction designed for educators who already hold a master's degree in the field but need Georgia Professional Standards Commission advanced professional certification. This 9-credit program bridges that qualification gap, helping experienced teachers meet state requirements and advance in curriculum leadership and instructional practice. Admission is available for spring and summer terms, with deadlines of December 15 and May 1. Applicants must have completed a master's in curriculum and instruction from a regionally accredited institution and hold a cumulative GPA of at least 2.75. The flexible online format accommodates working teachers seeking career progression.
- 9 total credit hours
- 2 start dates per year
- Starts spring/summer
- 2.8 GPA minimum
- Financial aid available
- Designed for current teachers
- For Georgia advanced certification
- Fully online format
- No fall admission
- Spring deadline December 15
University of Phoenix-Arizona
Phoenix, AZ - Private 4-year - phoenix.edu
Graduate Certificate - Post Master's Certificate in Curriculum and Instruction
Online Learning - Visit Website
University of Phoenix offers a fully online Post Master's Certificate in Curriculum and Instruction for educators aiming to lead curriculum development and instructional improvement. The 15-credit program covers instructional leadership, curriculum design, learning theories, and program evaluation, with practical skills for immediate application. Courses run five to six weeks, and the online classroom is accessible 24/7/365, fitting a working schedule. Tuition is locked at $810 per credit. Graduates often become instructional technologists or learning development specialists. Credits transfer into the Doctor of Education with a focus in Curriculum and Instruction, though the certificate does not lead to teacher licensure. No application fee or entrance exam (SAT/ACT) is required. HLC accredited since 1978, the program is military-friendly and supports employer reimbursement.
- No entrance exam required
- $810 per credit
- Locked tuition rate
- 15 total credit hours
- 5 total courses
- $0 application fee
- Military benefits accepted
- Employer reimbursement supported
- Financial aid available
- Scholarships available
Missouri State University
Springfield, MO - Public 4-Year - missouristate.edu
Graduate Certificate - Elementary Curriculum and Instruction Graduate Certificate
Online Learning - Visit Website
Missouri State University–Springfield offers a fully online Elementary Curriculum and Instruction Graduate Certificate designed for practicing educators seeking leadership roles in PreK–8 settings. The program emphasizes current instructional methods, best practices, and the practical steps for planning, implementing, and evaluating curriculum to improve student learning. Coursework is applicable immediately in real classrooms, making it ideal for teachers who want advanced expertise without pausing their careers. The 100% online format allows flexibility for working professionals. Applications are submitted through GradCAS, and the university provides financial aid and scholarship opportunities to eligible students.
- Financial aid available
- Scholarships available
- PreK-8 classroom best practices
- Install and test curriculum
- Complete certificate 100% online
- Apply via GradCAS portal
- Leadership in elementary education
- Academic help and guidance
- Add new teaching skills
Biola University
La Mirada, CA - Private 4-year - biola.edu
Graduate Certificate - Certificate in Curriculum and Instruction
Online Learning - Visit Website
Biola University's online Certificate in Curriculum and Instruction is an 8-month, 12-credit graduate program for educators seeking to shape instruction and close achievement gaps. The curriculum covers student assessment, classroom management, learning motivation, and education policy, along with practical skills like grant writing, book proposals, and textbook publication. With 4 courses and a total tuition of $8,376, this fully online certificate can stand alone or stack into Biola's M.A. in Teaching, M.A. in Education, or M.S. in Curriculum, Instruction and Publication. Applicants need a 3.0 GPA, and courses require a B or higher. Fall and spring starts are available, with an interview required as part of the application process.
- $8,376 total program tuition
- 8-Month program
- Designed to be completed in 1 year when attending full-time
- 12 total credit hours
- 4 total courses
- 2 start dates per year
- 3.0 GPA minimum
- $65 application fee
- Write or edit curricula for publication
- Covers assessment and classroom management
Queens University of Charlotte
Charlotte, NC - Private 4-year - queens.edu
Graduate Certificate - Curriculum & Instruction Specialist Graduate Certificate
Online Learning - Visit Website
Queens University of Charlotte’s online Curriculum & Instruction Specialist Graduate Certificate prepares educators to lead curriculum design and instructional innovation. This 15-credit program, typically completed in 10-12 months, includes courses such as Designing Effective Curriculum, Instructional Design, and Instruction & Assessment. Emphasizing data-driven decision-making, it explores how historical and social factors shape curriculum. Graduates are positioned for roles like instructional coordinator, curriculum developer, teacher trainer, or corporate trainer. For North Carolina teachers, the certificate also supports add-on licensure aligned with state standards. Offered online, hybrid, and in-person, it accommodates working professionals. Faculty bring extensive K-12 and administrative experience. Total tuition is $8,505, or $567 per credit.
- $8,505 total program tuition
- $567 per credit
- Complete in 10-12 months
- 15 total credit hours
- Online, hybrid, and in-person courses
- Prepares for NC add-on licensure
- Aligned with NC teaching standards
- Faculty with decades of experience
- Focus on curriculum design and innovation
Mid-America Christian University
Oklahoma City, OK - Private 4-year - macu.edu
Graduate Certificate - Curriculum and Instruction Certificate
Online Learning - Visit Website
Mid-America Christian University (MACU) offers an online Curriculum and Instruction Certificate designed for working educators and those transitioning into teaching. The graduate certificate focuses on P-12 classroom leadership, equipping students to build effective learning environments and collaborate meaningfully with students, parents, and fellow teachers. Coursework also satisfies the education requirement for an alternative teaching credential in Oklahoma; candidates should confirm reciprocity or additional steps with their local department of education. A bachelor's degree is required for admission. The program does not specify a required entrance exam such as the GRE. Courses cover classroom management, family engagement, and instructional leadership, providing practical skills for professional advancement or alternative certification pathways. MACU's enrollment counselors can assist with questions, and a downloadable info sheet gives an overview of the curriculum and admission requirements.
- Focus on P-12 classroom leadership
- Meets Oklahoma alternative credential requirement
- Work effectively with students, parents
- Bachelor's degree required for enrollment
2027 Affordable Online Curriculum & Instruction Graduate Certificate Programs
| Arkansas State University |
|
|
| Georgia Southern University |
|
|
| Missouri State University |
|
|
| University of Phoenix-Arizona |
|
|
| Walden University |
|
|
| Fort Hays State University |
|
|
| Biola University |
|
|
| Queens University of Charlotte |
|
|
| Kennesaw State University |
|
|
| University of Denver |
|
|
What Are the Online Curriculum & Instruction Graduate Certificate Requirements?
Before applying to an online curriculum and instruction graduate certificate program, prospective students will need to ensure that they meet all eligibility requirements. This will vary by school, but in general, students will need to fulfill the following:
- A bachelor's and a master's degree in relevant education subjects
- 3.0 minimum GPA
- Official transcripts from all colleges and universities attended
- Demonstrable experience working as a teacher, typically a minimum of two years
- If you do not speak English as a first language, the college will expect you to submit certification of a relevant and accredited English language certification. These include TOEFL, PTEA and TOEFL. Some colleges might accept DuoLingo and ELS112
- Two or more letters of recommendation
- The non-refundable application fee
- A personal statement with further details about your background and experience
- Some schools may ask that you complete an essay answering a question concerning a specific issue in education
What Type of Classes Are Included in the Online Curriculum & Instruction Graduate Certificate Program?
Graduate certificates in curriculum and instruction typically consist of a series of courses that can be completed within a year. Common course topics covered in this type of certificate program often include:
- Curriculum Design for Learning Environments
- Assessment Design
- Accelerated Learning Programs
- Leadership in the Classroom
- Evidence-Based Learning
- Integrating Technology into Teaching
- Teaching Models
- Global Perspectives
- Current Issues in Education
- Curriculum Development Theory
- Collaborative Teaching
- Supervision in Education
- Teaching & Learning Analytics
- Statistical Analysis in Learning Environments
- Principles and Procedures of Curriculum Development
- Developing Elementary School Curriculum
- Developing Secondary School Curriculum
- Developing Junior High and Middle School Curriculum
- Developing Alternative School Curricula
What Type of Careers Can I Pursue with an Online Curriculum & Instruction Graduate Certificate?
As an educator with a curriculum and instruction graduate certificate, rewarding careers in several industries are available to you. Popular pathways include:
- Private Tutor: You will be responsible for teaching one-to-one independently. You will oversee the development of your course material, often subject to specific standards.
- Business Training Associate: This role involves training adults in business systems and essential workplace skills. While you might be expected to adhere to industry standards on training, you will have some degree of control over course design.
- Corporate Trainer: Similarly, this role involves working within a business to support employee development, spearheading onboarding and training initiatives.
- Instructional Coordinator: Outside of frontline or second-line training, these professionals work at the top of organizations and the government. Your job is to design curricula, set up tests with students, and evaluate a school or organization's educational practices.
- School Teacher: Your skills will help you design effective lesson plans and assignment structures, as well as conduct evaluations of individual and group performance. Applies to elementary, secondary, and post-secondary.
- Special Needs Program Director: Children with learning or developmental difficulties need special consideration. Sometimes they need a different approach to study and a different type of program.
- Gifted Children Program Director: Gifted children also require special consideration and tailored teaching methods, as well as sometimes specialized curricula.
- Test/Exam Developer: Direct your skills towards creating age and skill-appropriate examination systems for schools and colleges.
Curriculum & Instruction Graduate Certificate Programs List
Browse Our List of Programs
Arkansas
Jonesboro, AR
Arkansas State University
- Graduate Certificate - Curriculum Director Certificate
Online Learning - Website
- $7,608 total program tuition
- curriculum directors make an average of $73,454 per year
- Fully online certificate program
- Meets Arkansas CPA licensure standards
- Internship component included
- Focus: curriculum revision and current issues
- First step into school administration
- Average pay bump over $22,000
Arizona
Phoenix, AZ
University of Phoenix-Arizona
- Graduate Certificate - Post Master's Certificate in Curriculum and Instruction
Online Learning - Website
- No entrance exam required
- $810 per credit
- Locked tuition rate
- 15 total credit hours
- 5 total courses
- $0 application fee
- Military benefits accepted
- Employer reimbursement supported
California
La Mirada, CA
Biola University
- Graduate Certificate - Certificate in Curriculum and Instruction
Online Learning - Website
- $8,376 total program tuition
- 8-Month program
- Designed to be completed in 1 year when attending full-time
- 12 total credit hours
- 4 total courses
- 2 start dates per year
- 3.0 GPA minimum
- $65 application fee
Colorado
Denver, CO
University of Denver
- Graduate Certificate - Culturally and Linguistically Diverse Education (CLDE) Certificate
Concentration: Culturally and Linguistically Diverse Education - Online Learning - Website
- Usually take between one and two years to complete
- 24 total credit hours
- Qualifies as state-approved CLDE endorsement
- Eligible for Colorado CORE endorsement
- Can combine with degree programs
- Prepares evidence-based practitioners and researchers
- Integrates culturally responsive pedagogy
- Requires licensed educator status
- Graduate Certificate - Curriculum & Instruction Graduate Certificates
Online Learning - Website
- 3 concentration options
- Between one and two years
- 24 total credit hours
- Licensed educators only
- Online, on-campus, off-site, hybrid
- Graduate Certificate - Gifted Education Certificate
Concentration: Gifted Education - Online Learning - Website
- Complete in one to two years
- 24 total credit hours
- Eligible for Colorado Gifted Education Endorsement
- Online, campus, off-site, hybrid options
- Requires licensed educators
- All courses can be completed online
- Includes inquiry projects and fieldwork
- Prepares educators of gifted students
- Graduate Certificate - Special Education Certificate
Concentration: Special Education - Online Learning - Website
- Between one and two years to complete
- 24 total credit hours
- Applicants must be licensed educators
- Online, on-campus, off-site, hybrid formats
- Eligible for CDE Generalist endorsement
- Leadership positions possible after completion
- Prepares evidence-based practitioners and researchers
- Collaborates with families and school personnel
Georgia
Kennesaw, GA
Kennesaw State University
- Graduate Certificate - Certificate in Curriculum & Instruction
Online Learning - Website
- 21 total credit hours
- 7 total courses
- Work experience required
- Capstone required
- Fully online coursework
- Georgia PSC approved field addition
- Small class sizes and individualized learning
- For elementary, middle, secondary educators
Statesboro, GA
Georgia Southern University
- Graduate Certificate - Post-Master's Certificate in Curriculum and Instruction
Online Learning - Website
- 9 total credit hours
- 2 start dates per year
- Starts spring/summer
- 2.8 GPA minimum
- Financial aid available
- Designed for current teachers
- For Georgia advanced certification
- Fully online format
Kansas
Hays, KS
Fort Hays State University
- Graduate Certificate - Curriculum & Instruction Graduate Certificate
Concentration: The Science of Language and Literacy, STEM Education - Online Learning - Website
- 2 concentration options
- Rolling admissions
- 2.5 GPA minimum
- $40 application fee
- Designed for licensed teachers
- Certificates mirror master's tracks
- Does not lead to state licensure
- Apply as non-degree seeking student
- Graduate Certificate - STEM Education Graduate Certificate
Concentration: STEM Education - Online Learning - Website
- 12 total credit hours
- Does not lead to teaching licensure
- Electives from STEM disciplines
- Mix disciplines or specialize
- Graduate Certificate - The Effective Teacher Graduate Certificate
Concentration: Effective Teaching - Online Learning - Website
- 9 total credit hours
- Does not lead to licensure
- Non-degree application required
Minnesota
Minneapolis, MN
Walden University
- Graduate Certificate - Graduate Certificate in Curriculum, Instruction, and Assessment
Online Learning - Website
- $7,900 total program tuition
- $395 per credit
- 20 total credit hours
- $0 application fee
- Financial aid available
- Scholarships available
- 20 credits apply to MS in Education
- 10% tuition reduction for life
Missouri
Springfield, MO
Missouri State University
- Graduate Certificate - Elementary Curriculum and Instruction Graduate Certificate
Online Learning - Website
- Financial aid available
- Scholarships available
- PreK-8 classroom best practices
- Install and test curriculum
- Complete certificate 100% online
- Apply via GradCAS portal
- Leadership in elementary education
- Academic help and guidance
North Carolina
Charlotte, NC
Queens University of Charlotte
- Graduate Certificate - Curriculum & Instruction Specialist Graduate Certificate
Online Learning - Website
- $8,505 total program tuition
- $567 per credit
- Complete in 10-12 months
- 15 total credit hours
- Online, hybrid, and in-person courses
- Prepares for NC add-on licensure
- Aligned with NC teaching standards
- Faculty with decades of experience
Oklahoma
Oklahoma City, OK
Mid-America Christian University
- Graduate Certificate - Curriculum and Instruction Certificate
Online Learning - Website
- Focus on P-12 classroom leadership
- Meets Oklahoma alternative credential requirement
- Work effectively with students, parents
- Bachelor's degree required for enrollment
Do we need to add to or update any of the information listed? Please contact us so we can keep our site updated.